A Daughter’s Take: My Mother’s Journey

This week, we’re pleased to welcome our youngest guest blogger, Sadie Kargman. Sadie’s sharing her family’s personal experience with melanoma and has committed to helping support MRA through fundraising. Read more.

Hi, my name is Sadie and when I was only in second grade my mom was diagnosed with melanoma. At first, considering, I was only 8 I didn’t quite know what was happening to my mom. As the weeks went by I noticed a pattern, she kept on going to the doctors or having them come over and getting what I called booboos (shots). Later when she finally sat down and explained what was happing to her it struck me. I could lose my mother.

kargmans

Sadie with her mom and dad

When she was getting the treatment she needed I wanted to do everything I could to help my mom. Because I was so young the only thing I could do was be extra nice and try to make my moms life a little bit easier, and trust that the doctors were doing everything they could.

Luckily for my family, my mom was able to beat cancer. Now that I am older I am thrilled to be able to help those afflicted with the same disease that my mom had.

When it came to picking a charity for my bat mitzvah the choice was easy. I wanted to work with the MRA because the cause was so near to my heart. Not only am I committed to raising money for the MRA but I am also passionate about spreading awareness about melanoma.During my time at sleep away camp I am always encouraging other girls to wear sunscreen and protect themselves from the sun.

Hopefully through my partnership with MRA I can learn even more about melanoma and help raise awareness so others can prevent getting the same disease as my mom had.

 

To learn more and help support Sadie’s efforts, visit her fundraising page.

Leave a Reply

